Thrive

Lunch Rescue: Pulled Pork BBQ

Our latest food upgrade efforts are to rescue the children from sad, boring, unhealthy (but expensive!) lunches. Like many overworked moms, I have gotten into the habit of giving the kids quick and easy lunches that usually consist of a processed meat sandwich and chips or something that can be easily nuked like chicken patties or frozen meatballs. Our mini jar meals have saved the day on plenty of occasions but we were looking for other options.

Thanks to the Pulled Pork Starter Box I have finally gotten around to trying the Thrive pulled pork. It is AMAZING! I can’t believe it took me so long to try it! I made this yummy BBQ sandwich last week in about 10 minutes so I will definitely be ordering more cans to stock in my home store.

I was able to get most of the Thrive ingredients for this lunch either free or half off due to the incredible host benefits that Thrive offers so it was definitely cheaper (and healthier!) than the sad bologna sandwiches my kids were previously eating.

I just kind of tossed this one together so I do not have any measurements or “official recipe” but it’s super easy to throw together. The ingredients (including the pork) are already cooked so you are just rehydrating and heating. Enjoy!

Pulled Pork BBQ


Pulled Pork BBQ

Thrive Pulled Pork
Thrive Chopped Onions
Thrive Mixed Bell Peppers
Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce

Add Thrive ingredients to a bowl (I do not measure, just toss in the amounts that you need).  Add enough hot water to cover the ingredients and stir a little bit.

Wait for about 5-10 minutes while the ingredients rehydrate. Add more water as necessary if the mixture looks dry. Drain excess water.

Heat a frying pan and add mixture, BBQ sauce, and a little bit of water. Stir and heat until the mixture is warm throughout (should only take a few minutes). Serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

